What our residents and faculty say…

“Aside from the training received here to prepare you to be a great anesthesiologist that can go anywhere in the world, the one thing that stands out above all is the people here.”–Resident, 2016

“The strength of this department is the faculty.. they are encouraging and brilliant.”–Resident, 2012

“The clinical experience you will receive is priceless. You will leave here with a sense of confidence that you are capable to take care of all types of patients at any level of their life, any degree of health, for multiple types of procedures.”–Faculty Member, 2011

The residency program at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) at Little Rock provides a strong educational and clinical experience for residents in anesthesiology. Our program is an ACGME-accredited, four-year program (PGY1-PGY4). Each post graduate year has 14 available slots, giving our program a total of 56 residents. Our 2015 Basic Exam pass rate was 100%, and the ABA Step 1 pass rate for 2015 was 92.8%.

The PGY-1 is termed the Clinical Base year. The PGY-2 through PGY-4 (CA-1 – CA-3) are spent rotating through the University Hospital, the Arkansas Children’s Hospital, and the John L. McClellan Veteran’s Affairs Hospital. During these three years, our residents are exposed to different specialties and subspecialty areas including pediatric anesthesia, acute and chronic pain management, OB anesthesia, neuroanesthesia and cardiothoracic anesthesia.

Our rotation sites administer over 33,000 anesthetics per year in 43 operating and delivery rooms. We provide a didactic teaching program, encourage individual study, and have research opportunities in multiple areas.

Program Director

Charles Napolitano, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Anesthesiology
Department of Anesthesiology, UAMS

Associate Program Director
Kristen Lienhart, M.D.
Department of Anesthesiology, UAMS

Instructional Development Specialist: Mary Beth Gresham, C-TAGME
Residency Program Coordinator: Kathy Graham
Education Coordinator: Anna S. Moses, M.Ed.

Contact Information

For further information, contact:
Residency Program Coordinator, Kathy Graham
(501) 686-7565 or,

Department of Anesthesiology
4301 W. Markham, Slot 515
Little Rock, AR 72205